Martin Gore, EP, Music News, News

Depeche Mode’s Martin Gore Preps Solo EP 'The Third Chimpanzee'

Founding member of Depeche Mode Martin Gore is set to release a new solo EP this January, and he has shared the lead single “Mandrill” ahead of that release.

Entitled The Third Chimpanzee, the five-track release will be Gore's follow-up to his 2015 instrumental album MG.

Regarding the EP, Gore said in a statement, “The first track I recorded had a sound that wasn’t human, it sounded primate-like. I decided to name it ‘Howler,’ after a monkey. Then, when it came time to name the EP, I remembered reading the book ‘The Rise and Fall of the Third Chimpanzee.’ It all made sense to call it that, as the EP was made by one of the third chimpanzees.”

The Third Chimpanzee will be released on Jan. 29 and pre-orders are ongoing.

Check out “Mandrill” and The Third Chimpanzee tracklist below.

The Third Chimpanzee Tracklist:

  1. Howler
  2. Mandrill
  3. Capuchin
  4. Vervet
  5. Howler’s End

For all your music needs, head over to for the best variety of radio stations around.

Keep up with the latest news by following us on Facebook (Live365 Official and Live365 Broadcasting) and Twitter (@Live365 and @Broadcaster365)!

Article Image: Martin Gore performing with Depeche Mode in Nice, France in May 2013. (Cilou101 [CC BY-ND 2.0] via Flickr.)

Author image

About Michelle Ruoff

  • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania