News, Listen

The National Drop Surprise Album 'Laugh Track'

Surprise! The National have released the new album they announced during their Homecoming festival on Friday night. It's called Laugh Track and is a companion piece to April’s First Two Pages of Frankenstein.

The National previewed Laugh Track with the singles “Space Invaders,” “Alphabet City,” and the Bon Iver / London Symphony Orchestra collaboration “Weird Goodbyes.” The album also features Phoebe Bridgers ("Laugh Track") and Rosanne Cash ("Crumble").

Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and The National's Aaron Dessner previously worked together on the record How Long Do You Think It’s Gonna Last?, which featured Taylor Swift. As for Phoebe Bridgers, she previously appeared on The National's First Two Pages of Frankenstein during the tracks "Your Mind Is Not Your Friend" and "This Isn't Helping".

The National worked with producers Tucker Martine, Tony Berg, and John Leventhal across the record. Laugh Track is the group's tenth studio effort, and was mostly written and recorded alongside First Two Pages of Frankenstein. Several songs were re-recorded at Martine's studio after honing their arrangements while the band was on tour this year.

Listen to some songs from Laugh Track below.

Check out our selection of free stations streaming The National music at

Rather listen on our app? Download the Live365 app on iOS or Android. Ready to start your own station? Contact one of our Product Consultants or visit our website today. Keep up with the latest news by following us on Facebook (Live365 (Official) and Live365 Broadcasting) and Twitter (@Live365 and @Broadcast365)!

Article Image: Aaron Dessner sings with The National during a show at Boston Calling. (Moffly via DepositPhotos.)

Author image

About Kathryn Milewski

  • New Jersey