CMT Music Awards, News, Music News

2019 CMT Music Awards Preview: What to Expect

The 2019 CMT Music Awards are airing live from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville tonight (Wednesday, June 5, 2019), at 8pm ET on CMT. Viewers can also tune in on and via the CMT app.

With Little Big Town returning as host and a performance-packed night, viewers can expect to see the best of the best of country music. Presenters throughout the night include Bobby Bones, Brantley Gilbert, Carly Pearce, Chris Sullivan, Cody Alan, Hunter Hayes, Jessie James Decker, Jimmie Allen, Julia Michaels, JWoww, Kate Bosworth, Katie Cook, Kiefer Sutherland, Lindsay Ell, Maddie & Tae, Michael Ray, Michelle Monaghan, Midland, Sarah Hyland, and Trisha Yearwood.

As for performances, Carrie Underwood, Dan + Shay, Kane Brown, Kelsea Ballerini, Luke Bryan, Keith Urban, Luke Combs, Zac Brown Band, and Thomas Rhett will all hit the stage. There will also be a number of collaborations, including Brandi Carlile and Tanya Tucker, Brett Young and Boyz II Men, Little Big Town with Trombone Shorty, Sheryl Crow with Maren Morris, and Toby Keith with Cole Swindell. Additionally, Breakthrough Video of the Year nominees Jimmie Allen, Jordan Davis, Mitchell Tenpenny, Morgan Wallen, Runaway June, and Tenille Townes will each perform a snippet of their nominated song from the Ram Trucks Side Stage.

All of the awards are fan-voted. Voting has closed, but voting for the Video of the Year will be open on Twitter until they announce the winner. To vote, users will need to tweet #CMTawards with each artist’s voting hashtag. The leading list of nominees include Brothers Osborne, Marren Morris, Miranda Lambert, and Zac Brown Band. Check out the list of nominees below:

Video of the Year
Carrie Underwood, “Cry Pretty” #VoteCarrie
Kane Brown, “Good as You” #VoteKane
Keith Urban feat. Julia Michaels, “Coming Home” #VoteKeith
Kelsea Ballerini, “Miss Me More” #VoteKelsea
Luke Combs, “She Got the Best of Me” #VoteLuke

Female Video of the Year
"The Joke," Brandi Carlile
"Love Wins," Carrie Underwood
"Space Cowboy," Kacey Musgraves
"Miss Me More," Kelsea Ballerini
"Girl," Maren Morris
"Keeper of the Flame," Miranda Lambert
"Closer to You," Carly Pearce

Male Video of the Year
"Break Up in the End," Cole Swindell
"Desperate Man," Eric Church
"Drowns the Whiskey," Jason Aldean and Miranda Lambert
"Lose It," Kane Brown
"Get Along," Kenny Chesney
"Sunrise, Sunburn, Sunset," Luke Bryan
"Life Changes," Thomas Rhett

Duo Video of the Year
"I Don't Remember Me (Before You)," Brothers Osborne
"Speechless," Dan + Shay
"Simple," Florida Georgia Line
"Feels Like a Party," LoCash
"Friends Don't," Maddie & Tae
"Babe," Sugarland feat. Taylor Swift

Group Video of the Year
"Love Ain't," Eli Young Band
"Born to Love You," Lanco
"Summer Fever," Little Big Town
"Burn Out," Midland
"Hotel Key," Old Dominion
"Someone I Used to Know," Zac Brown Band

Breakthrough Video of the Year
"Girl Goin' Nowhere (at Marathon Music Works)," Ashley McBryde
"Best Shot," Jimmie Allen
"Take It From Me," Jordan Davis
"Drunk Me," Mitchell Tenpenny
"Whiskey Glasses," Morgan Wallen
"Buy My Own Drinks," Runaway June
"Somebody's Daughter," Tenille Townes

Collaborative Video of the Year
"What Happens in a Small Town," Brantley Gilbert and Lindsay Ell
"Straight to Hell," Darius Rucker feat. Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan and Charles Kelley
"Burning Man," Dierks Bentley feat. Brothers Osborne
"Drowns the Whiskey," Jason Aldean and Miranda Lambert
"Coming Home," Keith Urban feat. Julia Michaels
"Babe," Sugarland feat. Taylor Swift

CMT Performance of the Year
"Motownphilly" (from CMT Crossroads), Boyz II Men and Brett Young
"Beautiful Crazy" (from CMT Crossroads), Luke Combs and Leon Bridges
"(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman" (from 2018 CMT Artists of the Year), Maren Morris and Brandi Carlile
“Let You Be Right" (From CMT Crossroads), Brett Eldredge and Meghan Trainor
"I Can't Make You Love Me" and "Help Me Make It Through the Night” (from 2018 CMT Artists of the Year), Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman and Gladys Knight
“Keep Me in Mind" (From CMT Crossroads), Zac Brown Band and Shawn Mendes

As for before the show, viewers can watch all the live action from the red carpet on CMT’s Twitter starting at 7pm ET.

For all your music needs, head over to for the best variety of radio stations around.

Keep up with the latest news by following us on Facebook (Live365 Official and Live365 Broadcasting) and Twitter (@Live365 and @Broadcaster365)!

Article image: Aditya Chinchure via Unsplash.

Author image

About Michelle Ruoff

  • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania